A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

CON

Sun, 3 Jul '22
Fool
Fri, 17 Jun '22
Pro's opponent
Wed, 8 Jun '22
Fool
Wed, 27 Apr '22
Hornswoggle
Wed, 2 Mar '22
Pro's counterpart
Fri, 12 Nov '21
Fan gathering, informally
Sun, 22 Aug '21
One side in a debate
Sun, 1 Aug '21
Hoodwink
Fri, 23 Jul '21
Swindle
Wed, 7 Apr '21
Reason against