A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

GNU

Tue, 30 Jan '24
Ungulate found backward in "ungulate"
Sun, 7 Jan '24
Bovid named for the sound it makes
Sun, 8 Oct '23
Serengeti grazer
Fri, 11 Aug '23
Horned one south of the Horn of Africa
Mon, 24 Jul '23
African grazer
Mon, 27 Mar '23
Bearded grazer
Fri, 17 Mar '23
Game from Africa
Fri, 27 Jan '23
Serengeti grazer
Thu, 19 Jan '23
Bearded grazer
Wed, 21 Dec '22
Antelope with chin hair
Thu, 8 Dec '22
Shaggy, horned beast
Sun, 30 Oct '22
Prey for a lion
Fri, 7 Oct '22
Companion of a 1-Across, maybe
Sun, 6 Mar '22
Zoo animal whose name rhymes with "zoo"
Thu, 16 Dec '21
Grazer with a bushy beard
Mon, 23 Aug '21
Wildebeest
Tue, 13 Jul '21
Prey for a lion
Mon, 24 May '21
Wildebeest
Sun, 9 May '21
Beast with a humped shoulder
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Stampede member in "The Lion King"
Thu, 4 Feb '21
Bearded beast