A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ALERT

Mon, 25 Jul '22
Phone notification
Sun, 3 Jul '22
Give a heads-up
Fri, 4 Mar '22
A red one is concerning
Mon, 23 Aug '21
Opposite of drowsy
Sat, 29 May '21
Email ___
Wed, 12 May '21
Well-caffeinated, perhaps
Fri, 7 May '21
Smartphone pop-up
Tue, 30 Mar '21
"___ the media!"
Wed, 24 Feb '21
Emergency notification
Mon, 4 Jan '21
Vigilant