A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SIR

Wed, 27 Oct '21
"___ Duke" (1976 Stevie Wonder hit)
Thu, 26 Aug '21
Dear fellow
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Lord's title
Wed, 9 Jun '21
Courtly title
Sun, 30 May '21
Yes or no follower
Wed, 28 Apr '21
"Aaron Burr, ___" ("Hamilton" song)
Sun, 25 Apr '21
"My dear man"
Thu, 8 Apr '21
Title for the entitled, maybe
Tue, 6 Apr '21
Follower of yes or no
Sun, 31 Jan '21
Elton John or Mick Jagger
Sun, 17 Jan '21
Anthony Hopkins, for one