A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

APT

Fri, 27 May '22
Suitable
Sat, 23 Apr '22
Right on
Sun, 27 Feb '22
Quick to learn
Tue, 4 Jan '22
Like Usain Bolt's last name
Sun, 26 Dec '21
Letters that complete this word: _P_ROPRIA_E
Wed, 15 Dec '21
Like the anagram "I'll make a wise phrase" for "William Shakespeare"
Sat, 11 Dec '21
Prone
Thu, 26 Aug '21
Apposite
Fri, 14 May '21
Inclined
Fri, 30 Apr '21
Address abbr.
Thu, 11 Mar '21
Abbr. in many an urban address