A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ORBS

Sun, 18 Feb '24
Eyeballs, e.g.
Sat, 6 Jan '24
Spheres
Sat, 25 Nov '23
Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune
Wed, 17 May '23
The sun and the moon
Tue, 28 Mar '23
Eyeballs, e.g.
Thu, 16 Feb '23
Scepter toppers
Sat, 10 Dec '22
Heads of staffs?
Thu, 29 Sep '22
Eyes, poetically
Sun, 3 Jul '22
Suns, e.g.
Tue, 24 May '22
Planets, poetically
Thu, 3 Mar '22
Earth and Mars, e.g.
Sun, 30 Jan '22
Balls
Fri, 27 Aug '21
Objects of stargazers' gazes
Sun, 11 Apr '21
Balls in the sky
Mon, 8 Feb '21
Celestial bodies