A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OGRE

Sun, 14 Nov '21
Fairy tale monster
Sat, 28 Aug '21
Folk tale figure
Sun, 20 Jun '21
Fairy tale villain
Wed, 26 May '21
Fairy tale baddie
Wed, 12 May '21
Fairy tale foe
Fri, 23 Apr '21
Oni, in Japanese folklore
Tue, 20 Apr '21
Fiona or Shrek
Thu, 8 Apr '21
Big meanie
Thu, 4 Mar '21
Folklore fiend
Wed, 3 Mar '21
Fairy tale villain
Tue, 16 Feb '21
Figure that might give a child nightmares
Tue, 9 Feb '21
People eater
Sun, 3 Jan '21
Big brute