A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ITEM

Mon, 29 Apr '24
Tabloid twosome
Tue, 27 Feb '24
Big-ticket ___
Sun, 25 Feb '24
Express lane unit
Sun, 18 Feb '24
Checkout unit
Fri, 20 Oct '23
Tabloid pair
Mon, 31 Jul '23
Tabloid twosome
Tue, 13 Jun '23
Meeting point?
Wed, 7 Jun '23
One thing … or two people
Sun, 4 Jun '23
Agenda bit
Fri, 26 May '23
Subject for gossips
Thu, 17 Nov '22
Couple
Mon, 26 Sep '22
Thingy
Tue, 2 Aug '22
Twosome
Mon, 11 Jul '22
Thing
Wed, 8 Jun '22
Thingy
Tue, 18 Jan '22
Tabloid twosome
Mon, 29 Nov '21
Something on a list
Sun, 21 Nov '21
Pair in gossip
Sun, 24 Oct '21
Tabloid twosome
Sun, 29 Aug '21
See 71-Down
Thu, 13 May '21
What's on the agenda
Mon, 19 Apr '21
New couple, in a gossip column
Fri, 2 Apr '21
Romantic couple
Wed, 31 Mar '21
Thingy