A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

PAR

Sun, 11 Feb '24
Result of a sand save, in golf
Mon, 8 Jan '24
Golf standard
Mon, 1 Jan '24
Average, in golf
Mon, 11 Dec '23
Score to shoot for
Wed, 15 Nov '23
Course standard
Thu, 24 Aug '23
Green standard
Mon, 14 Aug '23
___ for the course
Sun, 25 Jun '23
Course number
Tue, 20 Jun '23
72, at Augusta National
Mon, 5 Jun '23
It's usually two or three in miniature golf
Thu, 25 May '23
Course goal
Tue, 11 Apr '23
Good number to shoot for
Sun, 19 Mar '23
Something to aim for on a golf course
Sun, 1 Jan '23
A matter of course?
Thu, 8 Dec '22
Double eagle plus three
Sun, 11 Sep '22
The standard
Fri, 19 Aug '22
Something to shoot for
Sat, 18 Jun '22
6 is a rare one
Thu, 16 Jun '22
Round figure?
Wed, 5 Jan '22
Number it's good to be under
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Course standard
Sun, 29 Aug '21
Something to shoot for
Sun, 8 Aug '21
Course goal
Mon, 17 May '21
Number on a miniature golf card
Sun, 25 Apr '21
Nice round number?
Tue, 20 Apr '21
Golfer's target