A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

DEET

Sun, 12 May '24
Bug bite preventer
Fri, 20 Oct '23
Active ingredient in Off!
Thu, 6 Jul '23
Bug spray ingredient
Sat, 21 Jan '23
Off! ingredient
Thu, 29 Dec '22
Camper's protection
Tue, 15 Nov '22
Off! ingredient
Sun, 31 Oct '21
Popular tick repellent
Sun, 29 Aug '21
Bug spray ingredient
Tue, 25 May '21
Bug repellent ingredient
Tue, 20 Apr '21
Bug spray ingredient
Fri, 2 Apr '21
Bug spray ingredient
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Mosquito repellent ingredient
Fri, 29 Jan '21
Insect repellent ingredient