A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ELO

Wed, 5 Oct '22
"Mr. Blue Sky" band, to fans
Thu, 29 Sep '22
Grp. with the 1977 hit double album "Out of the Blue"
Wed, 14 Sep '22
"Don't Bring Me Down" band, in brief
Thu, 30 Jun '22
"Turn to Stone" band of 1977, for short
Tue, 31 May '22
Grp. with the 1975 hit "Evil Woman"
Wed, 30 Mar '22
Chess rating system
Mon, 30 Aug '21
"Xanadu" grp.
Fri, 23 Jul '21
"Do Ya" band, informally
Sun, 27 Jun '21
"Strange Magic" band, for short
Wed, 12 May '21
Grp. with the hits "Evil Woman" and "Do Ya"
Wed, 24 Feb '21
"Livin' Thing" rock band, for short
Thu, 4 Feb '21
"Mr. Blue Sky" grp.