A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

IRE

Wed, 27 Mar '24
Hot temper
Wed, 20 Mar '24
Anger
Sun, 25 Feb '24
Pique
Tue, 20 Feb '24
Spleen
Sun, 31 Dec '23
Vexation
Sun, 10 Dec '23
Wrath
Sun, 19 Nov '23
Rage
Sun, 1 Oct '23
Livid state
Thu, 28 Sep '23
Wrath
Sun, 20 Aug '23
Pique
Fri, 18 Aug '23
Steam
Mon, 31 Jul '23
Fury
Sun, 16 Jul '23
Spleen
Sun, 25 Jun '23
Choler
Sun, 28 May '23
Wrath
Tue, 11 Apr '23
Emotion that may be pent up
Tue, 28 Mar '23
Fury
Sun, 26 Mar '23
Seething state
Sat, 25 Mar '23
Red state
Wed, 1 Mar '23
Fury
Mon, 20 Feb '23
Wrath
Wed, 15 Feb '23
Boiling sensation
Sun, 29 Jan '23
Extreme vexation
Mon, 16 Jan '23
Wrath
Sat, 14 Jan '23
Face reddener
Sun, 1 Jan '23
Anger
Tue, 15 Nov '22
Anger
Mon, 14 Nov '22
Wrath
Wed, 9 Nov '22
Pique
Tue, 1 Nov '22
High dudgeon
Mon, 29 Aug '22
Wrath
Wed, 17 Aug '22
Fury
Mon, 1 Aug '22
Anger
Fri, 3 Jun '22
Hot flash?
Sun, 22 May '22
European World Cup team, on scoreboards
Sun, 15 May '22
Bile
Tue, 3 May '22
Vexation
Sun, 1 May '22
Rage
Sat, 9 Apr '22
Common Italian verb ending
Tue, 5 Apr '22
Wrath
Tue, 15 Mar '22
Outrage
Sun, 16 Jan '22
Pique
Tue, 11 Jan '22
Wrath
Thu, 16 Dec '21
Hot temper
Mon, 25 Oct '21
Fury
Mon, 30 Aug '21
Fury
Mon, 23 Aug '21
Ill temper
Tue, 17 Aug '21
Anger
Fri, 13 Aug '21
Choler
Sun, 8 Aug '21
Wrath
Wed, 28 Jul '21
Diatribe trigger
Sun, 9 May '21
Hot state
Tue, 27 Apr '21
Rage
Sun, 18 Apr '21
More than umbrage
Sun, 4 Apr '21
Fury
Mon, 22 Mar '21
Rageaholic's state
Mon, 15 Mar '21
Fury
Thu, 11 Mar '21
Red state
Tue, 9 Feb '21
Indignation
Fri, 22 Jan '21
Burning sensation
Thu, 21 Jan '21
Fury