A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

IDS

Mon, 14 Feb '22
Drivers' licenses and such
Sun, 23 Jan '22
Bar necessities, at times
Wed, 5 Jan '22
Face cards, for short?
Sun, 14 Nov '21
"Real" ones were first issued in the 2010s
Fri, 3 Sep '21
Names
Wed, 1 Sep '21
Wallet items
Sun, 29 Aug '21
Face cards?
Sun, 20 Jun '21
They may be checked at the door
Sun, 18 Apr '21
Liquor store requests
Sun, 21 Feb '21
They're checked at check-ins
Fri, 19 Feb '21
Some theft targets
Sun, 10 Jan '21
Bouncer's requests, for short