A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

CAP

Fri, 10 May '24
Lie, in slang
Fri, 19 Jan '24
Limit
Sun, 31 Dec '23
A mushroom's is called a pileus
Mon, 13 Nov '23
Upper limit
Sun, 24 Sep '23
Place for a feather
Fri, 4 Aug '23
Cover
Wed, 24 May '23
Toadstool topper
Wed, 22 Mar '23
Max
Sat, 18 Mar '23
What a retractable pen lacks
Mon, 26 Sep '22
Mushroom top
Sat, 20 Aug '22
Part of an oil well, maybe
Wed, 17 Aug '22
Gown go-with
Sat, 16 Jul '22
Cutoff point
Mon, 20 Jun '22
Beanie, e.g.
Thu, 25 Nov '21
Stadium souvenir
Sun, 5 Sep '21
Limit