A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

UNTIE

Fri, 5 Aug '22
Free, in a way
Wed, 23 Mar '22
Make a knot not?
Thu, 17 Mar '22
Leave with no strings attached?
Sun, 27 Feb '22
Release, in a way
Sun, 19 Dec '21
Remove, as a ribbon
Thu, 21 Oct '21
Let loose
Mon, 6 Sep '21
Loosen, as laces
Mon, 2 Aug '21
Loosen, as laces
Mon, 11 Jan '21
Loosen, as laces
Tue, 29 Dec '20
Loosen, as a knot