A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

MMA

Wed, 12 Oct '22
Sport with cage matches, in brief
Fri, 15 Jul '22
Fighting sport, for short
Sat, 11 Jun '22
Sport with hits and strikes, for short
Sun, 8 May '22
Ultimate fighting inits.
Sun, 10 Apr '22
Bouts with pay-per-view events, for short
Sun, 27 Mar '22
U.F.C. fighting style
Tue, 7 Dec '21
U.F.C. sport
Sat, 13 Nov '21
Sport with a big pay-per-view audience, in brief
Mon, 6 Sep '21
Combat sport on pay-per-view, in brief
Sun, 20 Jun '21
U.F.C. fighting style