A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

UMP

Sat, 3 Sep '22
One making calls from home
Wed, 25 May '22
One who calls people out
Tue, 11 Jan '22
One calling you out, perhaps
Thu, 18 Nov '21
One crying foul, say
Wed, 3 Nov '21
Ball caller
Mon, 1 Nov '21
One who cries "Yer out!"
Tue, 7 Sep '21
Official with a protective vest
Thu, 8 Jul '21
Strike caller
Sat, 1 May '21
One whose business is home-based?
Sun, 17 Jan '21
One whose calling is making calls?