A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

PAT

Tue, 17 May '22
Gently touch, either forward or backward
Sat, 14 May '22
Down ___
Mon, 9 May '22
Small butter unit
Sun, 13 Mar '22
With 74-Across, gesture of approval
Sat, 12 Mar '22
Overly rehearsed
Fri, 24 Dec '21
Simple and glib
Sun, 31 Oct '21
Action done while saying "Good dog"
Tue, 7 Sep '21
Butter serving
Wed, 25 Aug '21
Have down ___
Fri, 30 Jul '21
A nice touch
Mon, 5 Jul '21
Butter unit
Sun, 4 Jul '21
Glib
Sun, 11 Apr '21
Word that, when spelled backward, becomes its own synonym
Fri, 5 Mar '21
Overly glib
Sat, 2 Jan '21
Back stroke?