A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OTIS

Sun, 18 Sep '22
Jay-Z and Kanye West song that samples "Try a Little Tenderness"
Sun, 11 Sep '22
One who gave us all a lift?
Wed, 3 Aug '22
Redding with 11 Top 40 hits
Mon, 18 Jul '22
Redding who sang "(Sittin' on) The Dock of the Bay"
Sun, 3 Jul '22
Big name in elevators
Fri, 3 Jun '22
Company with the motto "When you rise, we shine"
Mon, 28 Mar '22
Redding who sang "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay"
Sun, 20 Mar '22
Redding who wrote "Respect"
Tue, 30 Nov '21
2011 Jay-Z/Kanye West hit that pays tribute to singer Redding
Wed, 10 Nov '21
Redding of Stax Records
Wed, 8 Sep '21
R&B great Redding
Fri, 27 Aug '21
Company that makes moving walkways
Thu, 5 Aug '21
"Miss ___ Regrets," jazz standard performed by Ethel Waters and Ella Fitzgerald
Sun, 11 Jul '21
"The Adventures of Milo and ___" (1989 film)
Sun, 13 Jun '21
Big elevator maker
Wed, 26 May '21
Inventor Boykin who helped develop the pacemaker
Mon, 26 Apr '21
Elevator brake inventor Elisha
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Elevator innovator