A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ANTE

Sat, 6 Nov '21
Lead-in to date
Sat, 30 Oct '21
Pot price
Wed, 8 Sep '21
Add to the kitty
Thu, 29 Jul '21
Prefix with penultimate
Fri, 2 Jul '21
Request a hand, say
Sun, 16 May '21
A jokester might say "And the pot thickens" after one
Fri, 2 Apr '21
Kick in
Mon, 29 Mar '21
Pay to play
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Toss in a chip, maybe
Tue, 23 Feb '21
Kick in seed money
Wed, 3 Feb '21
Starting stake
Fri, 29 Jan '21
Penny-___
Thu, 7 Jan '21
Chip in, in a way