A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SEE

Sun, 5 May '24
Go steady with
Thu, 11 Apr '24
"Capeesh?"
Sun, 17 Mar '24
Picture
Thu, 14 Mar '24
"Get it?"
Mon, 4 Mar '24
Understand
Mon, 22 Jan '24
"'I ___,' said the blind man, as he picked up a hammer and saw"
Sun, 7 Jan '24
"Told you so!"
Wed, 6 Dec '23
Have a gander
Sun, 22 Oct '23
Go out with
Tue, 17 Oct '23
"You get it?"
Sun, 15 Oct '23
"Get it?"
Tue, 10 Oct '23
Observe
Fri, 14 Jul '23
"Like I said!"
Tue, 4 Jul '23
"Clear now?"
Tue, 16 May '23
Understand
Mon, 8 May '23
"Get it?"
Thu, 4 May '23
Holy ___
Tue, 2 May '23
"Get it?"
Thu, 6 Apr '23
Date
Sun, 2 Apr '23
Notice
Thu, 23 Mar '23
"Can't you ___?"
Sat, 18 Mar '23
Understand
Mon, 23 Jan '23
"Catch my drift?"
Sat, 14 Jan '23
"Get it?"
Mon, 5 Dec '22
"Didn't I tell you?!"
Wed, 30 Nov '22
Call, as a wager
Thu, 13 Oct '22
Go to
Mon, 19 Sep '22
"Get it?"
Wed, 17 Aug '22
"Clear now?"
Wed, 10 Aug '22
"Get it?"
Sun, 24 Jul '22
You might be advised to do this for yourself
Sat, 23 Jul '22
Match
Sun, 17 Jul '22
Spot
Sun, 10 Jul '22
"All the Light We Cannot ___" (2015 Pulitzer-winning novel)
Thu, 30 Jun '22
"Didn't I tell you?"
Sun, 26 Jun '22
"What did I tell you?"
Thu, 5 May '22
"What'd I tell you?!"
Sat, 2 Apr '22
Match
Mon, 14 Feb '22
"Didn't I call it?"
Thu, 10 Feb '22
"Isn't that obvious?"
Tue, 25 Jan '22
Date regularly
Fri, 10 Dec '21
"Let's ___ ..."
Tue, 2 Nov '21
Envision
Sat, 16 Oct '21
Realize
Wed, 13 Oct '21
With 70- and 71-Across, agree ... and a phonetic hint to this puzzle's theme
Mon, 27 Sep '21
"Get what I'm saying?"
Wed, 22 Sep '21
Observe
Wed, 8 Sep '21
"Get it?"
Wed, 7 Jul '21
Understand
Tue, 29 Jun '21
Go out with
Sun, 20 Jun '21
"Told you so"
Sun, 9 May '21
Consult
Sat, 8 May '21
Lead-in to stars or daylight
Thu, 6 May '21
"Get it?"
Sun, 18 Apr '21
Word before an explanation
Sat, 10 Apr '21
"The thing about that is ..."
Thu, 1 Apr '21
What the Cyclops couldn't do after Odysseus tricked him
Tue, 16 Mar '21
Match, in poker
Mon, 15 Mar '21
Envision
Sat, 13 Mar '21
Holy ___
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Bishop's jurisdiction
Mon, 1 Mar '21
Visualize
Sat, 13 Feb '21
Word with red or reason
Sun, 7 Feb '21
Bishop's jurisdiction
Thu, 28 Jan '21
Date
Sun, 10 Jan '21
"Can't you ___?"