A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ILE

Tue, 4 Oct '22
Réunion, par exemple
Sun, 21 Aug '22
Bit of land in la mer
Sat, 23 Jul '22
___ du Diable (notorious French penal colony)
Sun, 6 Mar '22
La Corse, par exemple
Sun, 19 Dec '21
Paris's ___ Saint-Louis
Wed, 13 Oct '21
Réunion, for one
Wed, 22 Sep '21
___ de la Cité, one end of Paris's Pont Neuf
Thu, 26 Aug '21
Suffix with infant
Thu, 22 Apr '21
Sainte-Hélène, for one
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Mont-Saint-Michel, e.g.
Sun, 10 Jan '21
Haiti's ___ de la Tortue