A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EMIR

Thu, 20 Oct '22
Mideast royal
Sun, 17 Jul '22
Title meaning "commander"
Tue, 5 Jul '22
Head of state in Qatar
Fri, 3 Jun '22
Eastern leader
Mon, 23 May '22
Arab dignitary
Fri, 29 Apr '22
Sheik's peer
Wed, 13 Apr '22
Commander, in Arabic
Sat, 19 Mar '22
House of Saud title
Fri, 18 Feb '22
Mideast ruler
Sun, 23 Jan '22
Mideast V.I.P.
Tue, 4 Jan '22
Kuwaiti ruler
Thu, 9 Sep '21
Mohammed bin Thani was the first one for Qatar
Sun, 22 Aug '21
Title meaning "commander"
Mon, 21 Jun '21
Mideast bigwig
Tue, 23 Feb '21
Leader of an oil-rich land, maybe
Mon, 1 Feb '21
Qatari leader
Sun, 31 Jan '21
Sheik's peer
Wed, 13 Jan '21
Leader in a kaffiyeh