A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

REC

Mon, 29 Aug '22
Video camera button
Wed, 10 Aug '22
Remote button
Thu, 28 Jul '22
Partner of Parks
Sun, 24 Jul '22
___ hall
Mon, 17 Jan '22
TV remote button
Wed, 22 Dec '21
College app element
Sat, 11 Sep '21
Letter accompanying a personal statement, informally
Sun, 8 Aug '21
College app component
Fri, 25 Jun '21
Endorsement, for short
Thu, 29 Apr '21
Suggestion, colloquially
Wed, 17 Mar '21
Kind of room