A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ACID

Thu, 10 Mar '22
Drop it!
Wed, 23 Feb '22
"Salt Fat ___ Heat" (popular cookbook)
Tue, 4 Jan '22
"He'd be a broader guy if he had dropped ___ once": Steve Jobs on Bill Gates
Mon, 3 Jan '22
You'll trip on it if you drop it
Sun, 19 Dec '21
See 89-Across
Tue, 30 Nov '21
Very harsh, as comments
Sat, 6 Nov '21
Kind of rock
Tue, 26 Oct '21
Battery liquid
Sat, 11 Sep '21
Word with rain or rock
Mon, 12 Jul '21
The "A" of DNA
Tue, 15 Jun '21
Something you might trip on
Fri, 11 Jun '21
Sharp
Wed, 28 Apr '21
What's anything but basic?
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Bitter
Sun, 21 Feb '21
Biting
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Chemical that burns