A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

KNEE

Wed, 11 May '22
Banjo spot, in song
Tue, 10 May '22
One may be taken in protest
Sun, 6 Feb '22
Spot for a patch, perhaps
Thu, 21 Oct '21
Something taken in protest
Sat, 11 Sep '21
Take a ___
Thu, 29 Jul '21
Where bursitis may appear
Tue, 6 Jul '21
Bendable body part
Wed, 23 Jun '21
It may be taken in protest
Tue, 25 May '21
Part of the body mentioned in "Oh! Susanna"
Tue, 9 Feb '21
Part of jeans that might be ripped
Sun, 10 Jan '21
To take this, paradoxically, might signify taking a stand