A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SMOG

Mon, 4 Jul '22
Urban air pollution
Thu, 9 Jun '22
Urban ill
Wed, 25 May '22
Cause of some breathing problems
Sat, 30 Apr '22
E.P.A. concern
Tue, 8 Feb '22
Atmospheric condition that can be caused by wildfires
Sun, 16 Jan '22
Delhi issue
Mon, 27 Dec '21
Pollution in city skies
Fri, 5 Nov '21
Emissions concern
Sun, 12 Sep '21
City hazard
Wed, 21 Jul '21
Overhead cost of manufacturing?
Tue, 20 Apr '21
Polluted air