A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RARE

Wed, 30 Nov '22
Definitely not well done
Wed, 21 Sep '22
Like blue lobsters
Fri, 8 Jul '22
Prized, perhaps
Sun, 12 Jun '22
Valuable to collectors
Sun, 27 Mar '22
Like a T206 Honus Wagner baseball card
Mon, 21 Mar '22
Uncommon
Tue, 18 Jan '22
Uncommon
Sun, 12 Sep '21
Half-baked?
Sat, 28 Aug '21
Word with earth or bird
Mon, 2 Aug '21
Happening once in a blue moon
Mon, 31 May '21
Red, as a steak
Thu, 6 May '21
Unusual
Thu, 18 Feb '21
Hardly to be had
Tue, 9 Feb '21
Numismatic classification
Sun, 17 Jan '21
Like snow leopards and Siberian tigers
Mon, 11 Jan '21
Hard to find