A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

USA

Mon, 26 Sep '22
Miley Cyrus's "Party in the ___"
Mon, 5 Sep '22
___ Today
Tue, 9 Aug '22
___ Today
Mon, 13 Jun '22
Land between Can. and Mex.
Sun, 29 May '22
Home to about 75% of the world's tornadoes
Wed, 25 May '22
Team ___
Sat, 30 Apr '22
Women's soccer powerhouse
Tue, 19 Apr '22
Letters on a Forever stamp
Mon, 18 Apr '22
Miley Cyrus's "Party in the ___"
Mon, 14 Mar '22
Olympic women's gymnastics powerhouse
Thu, 10 Feb '22
Women's soccer and gymnastics powerhouse
Sat, 27 Nov '21
Today preceder
Fri, 12 Nov '21
2026 FIFA World Cup co-host
Fri, 22 Oct '21
Nation conspicuously missing from the Wilson-proposed League of Nations, in brief
Sun, 12 Sep '21
Leading medal winner at the Tokyo Olympics
Thu, 25 Mar '21
Destination of Finnish mail that's addressed to "Yhdysvallat"
Thu, 11 Mar '21
Olympic women's gymnastics powerhouse
Tue, 9 Mar '21
"Suits" network
Fri, 8 Jan '21
Team ___
Wed, 6 Jan '21
2019 FIFA Women's World Cup champs