A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SEA

Wed, 1 May '24
Mediterranean or Baltic
Thu, 18 Apr '24
Limitless quantity
Wed, 27 Mar '24
___ green
Wed, 13 Mar '24
Whatever floats your boat!
Wed, 6 Mar '24
Domain of SpongeBob SquarePants
Sat, 27 Jan '24
Word with power or change
Fri, 19 Jan '24
Domain of the god Triton
Thu, 9 Nov '23
With 45-Across, Northwest airport, in brief
Tue, 20 Jun '23
Milieu for snorkeling
Sun, 4 Jun '23
Multitude
Tue, 30 May '23
Pirate's domain
Wed, 24 May '23
Word with level or legs
Sun, 14 May '23
Last word in "America the Beautiful"
Wed, 3 May '23
The Kraken, on scoreboards
Sat, 29 Apr '23
Domain of the Norse god Njord
Tue, 21 Feb '23
The moon's ___ of Tranquillity
Fri, 17 Feb '23
What "Moana" means in Hawaiian
Fri, 10 Feb '23
Source of salt
Mon, 30 Jan '23
Dolphin's home
Thu, 19 Jan '23
___ change (profound transformation)
Fri, 16 Dec '22
Domain of Thetis, in Greek myth
Sun, 13 Nov '22
Vast quantity
Thu, 20 Oct '22
Coral ___
Fri, 27 May '22
Jacques Cousteau's milieu
Fri, 13 May '22
Body with a floor
Tue, 19 Apr '22
Mermaid's home
Wed, 9 Feb '22
With 48-Across, underwater creature that's certainly not a 48-Across
Sat, 5 Feb '22
Word with bass or bed
Thu, 13 Jan '22
Pirates' domain
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Watery expanse
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Nautilus's locale
Fri, 22 Oct '21
Lead-in to cow or lion
Sun, 12 Sep '21
Word with level or lion
Wed, 25 Aug '21
What floats your boat?
Fri, 13 Aug '21
With 55-Down, oceanographer's aid
Fri, 18 Jun '21
Head for a cow, horse or lion?
Mon, 14 Jun '21
Follower of Red or Dead
Fri, 28 May '21
"Finding Nemo" setting
Sun, 23 May '21
"Dames at ___" (Broadway musical)
Mon, 12 Apr '21
South China ___
Sun, 11 Apr '21
In which you might do a deep dive
Sat, 3 Apr '21
Ending of titles by Jean Rhys and Ernest Hemingway
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Setting for most of "Life of Pi"
Wed, 3 Mar '21
Wine-dark ___, metaphor in Homer's "Odyssey"
Wed, 17 Feb '21
Blue expanse
Mon, 11 Jan '21
Mediterranean, e.g.
Thu, 7 Jan '21
Main
Sun, 27 Dec '20
Red ___