A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EMU

Fri, 25 Nov '22
Creature frequently depicted in Indigenous Australian art
Sun, 13 Nov '22
Source of big green eggs
Sun, 6 Nov '22
The Tasmanian one has been extinct since the 19th century
Mon, 3 Oct '22
Down Under bird
Tue, 27 Sep '22
Outback bird
Mon, 5 Sep '22
Outback bird that can go two months without food
Fri, 26 Aug '22
Layer of green eggs
Tue, 12 Jul '22
Bird related to the cassowary
Wed, 1 Jun '22
Only living creature in the genus Dromaius
Mon, 30 May '22
Australian bird that's a vowel change from 7-Down
Mon, 16 May '22
Big bird in Liberty Mutual ads
Thu, 12 May '22
Six-footer Down Under
Mon, 28 Mar '22
Bird that can sprint up to 30 m.p.h.
Sun, 20 Mar '22
Outback speedster
Tue, 15 Mar '22
Bird in Liberty Mutual ads
Thu, 10 Feb '22
Bird found in the mud?
Wed, 26 Jan '22
Member of the ratite pack?
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Outback bird
Tue, 14 Dec '21
Second-tallest bird on earth
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Outback sight
Thu, 25 Nov '21
Land-bound bird
Sat, 6 Nov '21
Creature whose male incubates the eggs, during which it won't eat, drink or defecate for 50+ days
Mon, 13 Sep '21
Relative of an ostrich
Sat, 8 May '21
It can lay a one-and-a-half-pound egg
Thu, 6 May '21
Bird that's the source of Kalaya oil
Fri, 23 Apr '21
Creature that can fill the blank in L___R to make another creature
Sun, 21 Feb '21
Bird whose males incubate the eggs
Fri, 19 Feb '21
Depiction on the Australian coat of arms
Fri, 29 Jan '21
Creature in Liberty Mutual ads