A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RIOT

Thu, 9 May '24
Hoot and a half
Fri, 12 Apr '24
Lavish display, as of color
Sun, 28 Jan '24
Be part of an uprising
Thu, 2 Nov '23
Total hoot
Sun, 1 Oct '23
Uproar
Fri, 22 Sep '23
Laugh and a half
Sat, 8 Jul '23
___ Games, developer behind League of Legends
Sun, 18 Jun '23
Nonstop jokester
Sun, 22 Jan '23
Hoot
Sun, 1 Jan '23
Hilarious sort
Tue, 29 Nov '22
Hoot
Sun, 2 Oct '22
Hoot
Fri, 30 Sep '22
Gigglefest
Fri, 18 Mar '22
Laughfest
Sun, 24 Oct '21
Laugh and a half
Mon, 13 Sep '21
Hilarious person
Sun, 15 Aug '21
Real cutup
Thu, 12 Aug '21
With 51-Across, something to "read"
Mon, 2 Aug '21
Laugh ___ (something very funny)
Sun, 9 May '21
Hilarious sort
Fri, 23 Apr '21
Laughfest
Fri, 9 Apr '21
Hoot
Wed, 27 Jan '21
Nonstop joker
Sun, 10 Jan '21
___ shield