A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TEST

Thu, 1 Dec '22
Experiment with
Tue, 25 Oct '22
Try the patience of
Tue, 23 Aug '22
Midterm or final
Wed, 6 Jul '22
What drivers do to cars at Car and Driver
Tue, 7 Jun '22
Litmus ___
Mon, 7 Mar '22
Event that may be proctored
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Exam
Sun, 14 Nov '21
A negative one might be positive
Mon, 1 Nov '21
Exam
Tue, 14 Sep '21
Class struggle?
Sun, 15 Aug '21
Performance check
Thu, 12 Aug '21
Drill, for instance
Sun, 18 Jul '21
What may make the grade
Mon, 10 May '21
Try out
Mon, 12 Apr '21
Rorschach, for one
Sun, 7 Feb '21
Lab work