A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EYE

Sat, 27 Apr '24
Symbol of Ra's power in ancient Egypt
Mon, 25 Mar '24
Fittingly, a homophone of one letter in "sight"
Mon, 18 Mar '24
Part of a needle or hurricane
Wed, 14 Feb '24
Potato part
Sun, 4 Feb '24
Word after stink or pink
Sun, 28 Jan '24
Image at the top of the pyramid on the back of a dollar bill
Sun, 14 Jan '24
See here!
Sat, 7 Oct '23
Setting for vitreous humor
Fri, 1 Sep '23
The corner of one is called a canthus
Tue, 29 Aug '23
Camera lens, essentially
Mon, 7 Aug '23
Single feature of a Cyclops
Mon, 20 Mar '23
"Peeper" that makes no sound
Sun, 19 Mar '23
Word before tooth or candy
Mon, 13 Mar '23
Locale for the pupil and iris
Tue, 14 Feb '23
What views or is viewed through a monocle
Thu, 2 Feb '23
See 1-Down
Wed, 11 Jan '23
London ___ (landmark observation wheel)
Thu, 29 Dec '22
Body part affected by heterochromia
Wed, 7 Dec '22
Regard
Wed, 16 Nov '22
Peer at suspiciously
Sat, 12 Nov '22
Common symbol in a rebus
Mon, 3 Oct '22
One of up to 200(!) on a scallop
Fri, 30 Sep '22
Word with catching or popping
Tue, 23 Aug '22
Ogle
Wed, 16 Mar '22
Examine
Thu, 10 Mar '22
Human organ with its own immune system
Tue, 8 Mar '22
Hurricane's center
Thu, 24 Feb '22
With 63-Across, test for pupils
Tue, 21 Dec '21
Lens holder
Wed, 13 Oct '21
See 65-Down
Thu, 19 Aug '21
___ of Ra, symbolic depiction in Egyptian art
Tue, 22 Jun '21
A Cyclops has one
Thu, 3 Jun '21
See 34-Down
Mon, 17 May '21
CBS logo
Wed, 5 May '21
Follower of red, pink or black
Sat, 27 Feb '21
Inspect
Mon, 4 Jan '21
Part of a needle