A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

END

Wed, 25 May '22
Inning : baseball :: ___ : curling
Thu, 14 Apr '22
Derrière
Mon, 28 Mar '22
Finale
Thu, 24 Feb '22
Abolish
Sun, 23 Jan '22
Omega's place
Mon, 10 Jan '22
Finale
Fri, 7 Jan '22
Purpose
Thu, 28 Oct '21
Be over
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Denouement
Wed, 13 Oct '21
Like-it-or-loathe-it bread piece
Thu, 9 Sep '21
Close
Wed, 14 Jul '21
See 61-Across
Wed, 9 Jun '21
Word after business or bitter
Sun, 2 May '21
Butt
Fri, 30 Apr '21
Redundant word before "result"
Sun, 18 Apr '21
Undoing
Tue, 13 Apr '21
Wrap up
Mon, 15 Mar '21
Conclude
Tue, 23 Feb '21
Last part
Thu, 14 Jan '21
Appropriate answer for this spot in the puzzle