A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ODDS

Wed, 31 Aug '22
Track figures
Sun, 5 Jun '22
Chances
Tue, 12 Apr '22
They're long for an underdog
Tue, 8 Mar '22
Bettor's chances
Thu, 3 Mar '22
1:15 or 1:30, e.g.
Sun, 23 Jan '22
"What are the ___?"
Thu, 6 Jan '22
Right-hand page numbers, typically
Fri, 3 Dec '21
"___ are ..."
Sat, 13 Nov '21
9-to-5, e.g.
Sat, 30 Oct '21
"___ are ..."
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Nine to five, for example
Wed, 15 Sep '21
They can be even, paradoxically
Wed, 4 Aug '21
Gamblers' calculations
Sun, 20 Jun '21
Even ___
Sat, 12 Jun '21
Some calculations in 40-Down
Tue, 23 Mar '21
10:1, e.g.
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Probability