A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TIRE

Mon, 10 Jun '24
Where the rubber meets the road?
Fri, 12 Apr '24
Lose steam
Thu, 28 Dec '23
Part of a makeshift swing
Mon, 25 Dec '23
Lose energy
Sun, 5 Nov '23
Exhaust … or something found near the exhaust
Fri, 25 Aug '23
Flag
Tue, 4 Jul '23
Item on the back of a Jeep
Sat, 1 Jul '23
Drain
Fri, 30 Jun '23
Wear out
Sat, 25 Mar '23
Something to get rid of once it's worn
Fri, 13 Jan '23
Lose steam
Sat, 31 Dec '22
Rear-view feature on a Jeep?
Wed, 2 Nov '22
Exhaust
Sat, 1 Oct '22
Place for a flat
Thu, 4 Aug '22
Word before iron or chain
Sun, 5 Jun '22
Wheely good invention?
Sat, 14 May '22
Exhaust
Fri, 29 Apr '22
Wear (out)
Fri, 10 Dec '21
Wear out
Fri, 17 Sep '21
Tucker
Tue, 13 Jul '21
One for the road?
Wed, 5 May '21
Tucker out
Mon, 15 Mar '21
Lose stamina