A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RAG

Sat, 23 Oct '21
Low-quality paper
Fri, 17 Sep '21
Criticize, with "on"
Thu, 8 Jul '21
Piano performance in an old music hall
Tue, 6 Jul '21
Unreliable source of news
Thu, 10 Jun '21
"The Entertainer," e.g.
Mon, 7 Jun '21
Cloth for cleaning
Thu, 22 Apr '21
It collects dust
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Criticize constantly, with "on"
Tue, 12 Jan '21
Disreputable newspaper
Tue, 5 Jan '21
Jaunty piano tune