A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EVE

Thu, 18 Nov '21
Inhabitant of 48-Across
Wed, 13 Oct '21
Night before
Sun, 5 Sep '21
"Gangsta Lovin'" rapper, 2002
Wed, 11 Aug '21
"Killing ___" (Sandra Oh series)
Mon, 7 Jun '21
Garden of Eden woman
Sun, 21 Mar '21
First mate?
Sat, 20 Mar '21
Twelfth Night vis-à-vis Three Kings' Day
Tue, 16 Mar '21
Woman in a garden
Fri, 5 Feb '21
One-named rapper who became a co-host of CBS's "The Talk"
Sat, 16 Jan '21
Predate?
Thu, 7 Jan '21
New Year's ___
Sun, 3 Jan '21
Holiday preceder