A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

PAL

Tue, 18 Oct '22
Bud
Wed, 5 Oct '22
Chum
Mon, 8 Aug '22
Buddy
Mon, 9 May '22
Buddy
Sun, 17 Apr '22
Crony
Fri, 8 Apr '22
Hang (around with)
Thu, 10 Mar '22
Bud
Mon, 10 Jan '22
Chum
Tue, 9 Nov '21
Chum
Wed, 27 Oct '21
Buddy
Sat, 18 Sep '21
Close one
Mon, 30 Aug '21
Friend
Thu, 15 Jul '21
Compadre
Fri, 11 Jun '21
Bud
Tue, 23 Mar '21
Bud
Sat, 20 Feb '21
Homie
Fri, 29 Jan '21
Bud
Tue, 19 Jan '21
Friend