A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OPERA

Wed, 8 May '24
"The Marriage of Figaro," e.g.
Tue, 16 Apr '24
Word in the title of Broadway's longest-running show
Tue, 9 Apr '24
Field for a voice major, perhaps
Fri, 1 Mar '24
Of all the noises known to man, it is the most expensive, per an old quip
Sun, 31 Dec '23
Word with space or rock
Thu, 16 Nov '23
"Otello," for one
Thu, 9 Nov '23
Love of Charles Foster Kane in "Citizen Kane"
Thu, 5 Oct '23
Where there is "too much singing," per Debussy
Mon, 24 Jul '23
"The Magic Flute," e.g.
Mon, 2 Jan '23
"La Bohème" or "La Traviata"
Wed, 21 Dec '22
Field for Maria Callas
Fri, 9 Dec '22
"Il Trovatore," for one
Mon, 5 Dec '22
"Aida" or "Lohengrin"
Sat, 5 Nov '22
Met for a few hours in the evening?
Tue, 18 Oct '22
John Adams's "Nixon in China," for one
Wed, 5 Oct '22
Word with rock or soap
Wed, 22 Jun '22
Work from Bellini or Rossini
Fri, 17 Jun '22
Word with light or space
Fri, 27 May '22
Kind of cake with layers of coffee and chocolate
Sun, 22 May '22
Best ___ Recording (Grammy category)
Sun, 10 Apr '22
Word with box or gloves
Tue, 25 Jan '22
"Fidelio" is Beethoven's only one
Mon, 22 Nov '21
"Tosca" or "Turandot"
Mon, 15 Nov '21
They say this "ain't over until the fat lady sings"
Mon, 8 Nov '21
"Carmen" or "Elektra"
Wed, 27 Oct '21
Unsuk Chin's "Alice in Wonderland," for one
Sun, 19 Sep '21
Literally, "works"
Sun, 29 Aug '21
"What's ___, Doc?" (old Bugs Bunny short)
Mon, 9 Aug '21
"The Phantom of the ___"
Thu, 5 Aug '21
Grammy category
Tue, 4 May '21
"La Bohème," for one
Wed, 14 Apr '21
"The Barber of Seville," e.g.
Sun, 21 Feb '21
Where trills provide thrills