A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EST

Mon, 21 Nov '22
Superlative suffix
Sat, 12 Nov '22
Many a population fig.
Mon, 7 Nov '22
Approx.
Wed, 12 Oct '22
Winter hrs. in Boston
Sun, 18 Sep '22
Cornerstone abbr.
Tue, 2 Aug '22
Give-or-take fig.
Thu, 7 Jul '22
Around figure?: Abbr.
Wed, 22 Jun '22
Abbr. on a cornerstone
Sun, 1 May '22
Cutesy ending with most
Thu, 7 Apr '22
The "e" of i.e.
Sat, 26 Feb '22
Winter D.C. clock setting
Mon, 21 Feb '22
"To the max" suffix
Tue, 1 Feb '22
Approximate fig.
Mon, 31 Jan '22
Winter setting in N.Y.C.
Mon, 24 Jan '22
Superlative suffix
Mon, 3 Jan '22
Ballpark guess: Abbr.
Wed, 27 Oct '21
Humorous suffix with "most" and "best"
Sun, 19 Sep '21
Body shop fig.
Thu, 19 Aug '21
The "e" of "i.e."
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Is at the Forum?
Fri, 9 Jul '21
It's not the final number: Abbr.
Fri, 18 Jun '21
"Errare humanum ___"
Tue, 15 Jun '21
Winter hrs. in New Jersey
Thu, 10 Jun '21
Contractor's fig.
Wed, 26 May '21
Suffix with "most," redundantly
Fri, 14 May '21
14 billion years, for the age of the universe: Abbr.
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Is, in ancient Rome
Fri, 19 Feb '21
Ballpark fig.
Fri, 12 Feb '21
Record finish?