A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ONSET

Fri, 19 Aug '22
Dawn
Thu, 18 Aug '22
It's a start
Sun, 12 Jun '22
Beginning
Tue, 10 May '22
Beginning, as of symptoms
Wed, 6 Apr '22
Get-go
Sun, 20 Feb '22
Beginning
Wed, 17 Nov '21
Infancy
Mon, 20 Sep '21
Arrival
Mon, 9 Aug '21
Beginning
Mon, 29 Mar '21
Beginning