A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

AGE

Mon, 20 Sep '21
Grow older
Wed, 25 Aug '21
Grow long in the tooth
Wed, 21 Jul '21
Info on a dating profile
Mon, 12 Jul '21
Number that never goes down
Tue, 29 Jun '21
Methuselah's reached 969 years
Mon, 28 Jun '21
"___ before beauty"
Fri, 25 Jun '21
Partner of day
Wed, 19 May '21
Develop wrinkles, say
Tue, 18 May '21
What tree rings indicate
Wed, 17 Mar '21
Get on in years
Mon, 15 Mar '21
It's just a number, they say
Tue, 23 Feb '21
What a tot might indicate by holding up fingers
Thu, 4 Feb '21
Some do it gracefully
Tue, 2 Feb '21
It's "just a number"
Thu, 28 Jan '21
Demographic figure