A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TEN

Sun, 3 Mar '24
Tue, 13 Feb '24
Alexander Hamilton's bill
Sat, 10 Feb '24
Half a score
Tue, 6 Feb '24
Number for John Tyler (or Alexander Hamilton)
Sun, 4 Feb '24
Atomic number of neon
Wed, 31 Jan '24
Perfect score, often
Tue, 26 Dec '23
What's rolled to get from Free Parking to Go to Jail, in Monopoly
Sun, 24 Dec '23
Number of lords a-leaping
Sun, 19 Nov '23
Start of some countdowns
Thu, 26 Oct '23
Digital number?
Fri, 13 Oct '23
Hamilton
Sun, 1 Oct '23
Like many fourth graders
Sun, 20 Aug '23
What "puppy paws" equal, in craps
Tue, 4 Jul '23
Number of legs on a crab
Sat, 29 Apr '23
___-spot
Mon, 17 Apr '23
Start of a countdown
Fri, 14 Apr '23
13x platinum Pearl Jam album that actually has 11 tracks
Sun, 26 Mar '23
What "X" might stand for
Mon, 6 Mar '23
Number of Canadian provinces
Sat, 18 Feb '23
Top ___
Thu, 29 Dec '22
X
Fri, 28 Oct '22
Number written as a simple cross in Chinese
Tue, 2 Aug '22
Perfect score in diving
Thu, 28 Jul '22
What you get when you put your hands together?
Thu, 30 Jun '22
Face value?
Fri, 27 May '22
Start of a count
Tue, 3 May '22
Cube root of 1,000
Tue, 5 Apr '22
What "X" might mean
Thu, 24 Mar '22
Part of a royal flush
Mon, 21 Mar '22
"Count to ___" (calming advice)
Thu, 17 Mar '22
Number of a certain rear bowling pin
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Number of provinces in Canada
Fri, 5 Nov '21
Mark of perfection
Thu, 21 Oct '21
Number of Emily Dickinson poems, out of the 1,700+ she wrote, that were published during her lifetime
Mon, 20 Sep '21
Number of provinces in Canada
Tue, 18 May '21
Highest point value for a Scrabble tile
Wed, 14 Apr '21
One followed by nothing?
Mon, 22 Mar '21
Point value for a "Z" in Scrabble
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Face card's value in blackjack
Fri, 19 Feb '21
See 41-Across
Fri, 12 Feb '21
Sum of the first three prime numbers
Sun, 10 Jan '21
Pin number?
Thu, 31 Dec '20
Something to take or hang