A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SSE

Mon, 4 Mar '24
Opposite of NNW
Thu, 8 Feb '24
Brasilia-to-Rio dir.
Mon, 6 Nov '23
NNW's opposite
Thu, 17 Aug '23
157.5 degrees from N
Tue, 18 Jul '23
Seattle-to-San Diego dir.
Mon, 19 Jun '23
NNW's opposite
Sun, 6 Nov '22
About five o'clock, compass-wise
Wed, 28 Sep '22
Chicago-to-Miami dir.
Mon, 22 Aug '22
Opposite of NNW
Wed, 22 Jun '22
Sacramento-to-San Diego dir.
Mon, 31 Jan '22
180° from NNW
Thu, 25 Nov '21
Glasgow-to-London dir.
Wed, 24 Nov '21
Chicago-to-Atlanta dir.
Mon, 1 Nov '21
NNW's opposite