A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

HIRE

Fri, 5 Jan '24
Verb that becomes its opposite when its first letter is changed to an "f"
Sun, 24 Dec '23
Bring on board
Mon, 20 Nov '23
Bring on staff
Fri, 3 Nov '23
Get in position?
Tue, 26 Sep '23
Bring on board
Fri, 30 Jun '23
New employee
Sat, 25 Feb '23
Bring on
Mon, 6 Feb '23
Bring on staff
Wed, 28 Dec '22
Put on staff
Mon, 29 Aug '22
Put on the payroll
Tue, 21 Sep '21
Bring on for a position
Sun, 30 May '21
Engage
Tue, 25 May '21
"This Gun for ___" (film noir classic)