A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

AIDE

Mon, 26 Sep '22
Errand runner
Tue, 23 Aug '22
Helper
Sun, 5 Jun '22
Assistant
Sat, 14 May '22
Adviser, e.g.
Thu, 12 May '22
Second
Mon, 21 Mar '22
Assistant
Wed, 9 Mar '22
Member of a support staff
Mon, 13 Dec '21
Right-hand person
Mon, 1 Nov '21
Assistant
Wed, 22 Sep '21
Many an anonymous source on Capitol Hill
Tue, 21 Sep '21
Nurse's ___
Mon, 7 Jun '21
Helper
Wed, 26 May '21
Gofer
Sun, 25 Apr '21
Supporting role
Thu, 28 Jan '21
Number two