A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ALA

Wed, 29 May '24
In the manner of
Wed, 17 Apr '24
Styled after
Mon, 8 Apr '24
In the style of
Sun, 31 Mar '24
In the style of
Wed, 13 Mar '24
Huntsville's home: Abbr.
Mon, 4 Mar '24
In the manner of
Wed, 28 Feb '24
In the style of
Mon, 25 Dec '23
In the style of, on a menu
Sun, 24 Dec '23
In the manner of
Sun, 17 Dec '23
Taking after
Thu, 12 Oct '23
Mobile home: Abbr.
Mon, 9 Oct '23
In the style of
Tue, 3 Oct '23
Lead-in to mode
Sun, 16 Jul '23
Org. with a "Top 100 Most Banned and Challenged Books" list
Fri, 14 Jul '23
___ plancha (cooking style)
Sun, 9 Jul '23
According to
Tue, 30 May '23
In the style of
Tue, 23 May '23
First U.S. state alphabetically: Abbr.
Tue, 2 May '23
In the style of
Mon, 17 Apr '23
In the same way as
Tue, 11 Apr '23
Chicken ___ king
Mon, 6 Mar '23
___ mode
Sun, 29 Jan '23
In the manner of
Tue, 17 Jan '23
Pie ___ mode
Sun, 8 Jan '23
In the manner of
Thu, 29 Dec '22
Chicken ___ king
Tue, 27 Dec '22
In the manner of
Tue, 18 Oct '22
___ carte menu
Sun, 9 Oct '22
In the manner of
Wed, 5 Oct '22
"___ peanut butter sandwiches!" (The Amazing Mumford's catchphrase on "Sesame Street")
Wed, 28 Sep '22
___ mode
Mon, 19 Sep '22
Pie ___ mode
Sun, 4 Sep '22
___ mode
Fri, 22 Jul '22
French phrase with a grave accent
Wed, 13 Jul '22
Salmon ___ plancha (fish dish)
Sun, 26 Jun '22
French menu word
Wed, 22 Jun '22
___ mode
Tue, 21 Jun '22
In the style of
Tue, 8 Mar '22
___ carte
Sun, 13 Feb '22
French menu phrase
Wed, 19 Jan '22
Lead-in to a culinary attribution
Sun, 9 Jan '22
Akin to
Thu, 23 Dec '21
In the way of
Fri, 26 Nov '21
Banned Books Week org.
Thu, 18 Nov '21
Similar to
Tue, 9 Nov '21
___ mode
Wed, 22 Sep '21
In the fashion of
Wed, 18 Aug '21
John Lewis was born here: Abbr.
Sun, 15 Aug '21
Like
Tue, 10 Aug '21
Chicken ___ king
Fri, 30 Jul '21
Like
Tue, 22 Jun '21
Lobster ___ Newburg
Mon, 7 Jun '21
Montgomery's state: Abbr.
Thu, 3 Jun '21
In the style of
Wed, 19 May '21
Home of the Rosa Parks Museum: Abbr.
Wed, 12 May '21
___ mode
Sun, 4 Apr '21
State where M.L.K. marched: Abbr.
Tue, 23 Mar '21
Similar to
Mon, 15 Mar '21
___ carte (ordered separately)
Wed, 3 Mar '21
Styled after
Sun, 17 Jan '21
#1 of 50, alphabetically: Abbr.
Sat, 16 Jan '21
___ vapeur (steamed)
Thu, 14 Jan '21
___ king