A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OLE

Tue, 21 May '24
World Cup chant
Wed, 24 Apr '24
Match chant
Sat, 20 Apr '24
Big whoop?
Fri, 12 Apr '24
___ Kirk Christiansen, founder of the Lego company
Sun, 7 Apr '24
Fútbol cheer
Sun, 31 Mar '24
Stadium cheer
Sat, 23 Mar '24
Cry of encouragement
Wed, 20 Mar '24
Cry repeated in the 1980s dance tune "Hot Hot Hot"
Fri, 15 Mar '24
Scream for a team
Wed, 13 Mar '24
___ Miss
Mon, 11 Mar '24
Cry at a soccer stadium
Sun, 7 Jan '24
Stadium cheer
Sat, 30 Dec '23
Grand ___ Opry
Sun, 10 Dec '23
Encouraging shout
Wed, 6 Dec '23
"Hurrah!" at a stadium
Thu, 19 Oct '23
Flamenco dancer's cry
Mon, 16 Oct '23
Soccer stadium shout
Wed, 4 Oct '23
Cabo cheer
Wed, 23 Aug '23
Bullfight cheer
Sun, 6 Aug '23
Stadium cheer
Mon, 24 Jul '23
Soccer game cheer
Sat, 15 Jul '23
Informal adjective after "big" or "good"
Tue, 20 Jun '23
Flamenco cheer
Sun, 28 May '23
Refrain from sports?
Wed, 24 May '23
Cheer for a matador
Fri, 24 Mar '23
Estadio Azteca cheer
Sun, 19 Mar '23
Shout heard in the Plaza México
Sun, 5 Feb '23
Jubilant cheer
Thu, 24 Nov '22
"___ Coltrane" (1961 John Coltrane album)
Tue, 1 Nov '22
Toledo cheer
Sat, 8 Oct '22
Good cheer
Wed, 28 Sep '22
Shout of support
Thu, 8 Sep '22
Big whoop?
Sun, 7 Aug '22
Cheer to a matador
Sat, 6 Aug '22
"Still the Same ___ Me" (George Jones album)
Sun, 24 Jul '22
Fútbol cry
Wed, 8 Jun '22
Fútbol cheer
Fri, 3 Jun '22
"Woo-hoo!," in Oaxaca
Tue, 31 May '22
Cry at a World Cup match
Thu, 26 May '22
Good cheer
Wed, 4 May '22
Fútbol cry
Sun, 1 May '22
Two-syllable cheer
Sat, 26 Mar '22
Fan belt?
Sun, 20 Mar '22
Fútbol cheer
Sun, 6 Mar '22
Sports fan's cheer
Mon, 28 Feb '22
Flamenco cheer
Mon, 21 Feb '22
Fútbol cheer
Sun, 13 Feb '22
Good cheer
Fri, 28 Jan '22
Stadium cry
Thu, 28 Oct '21
"Bravo!" relative
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Shout of support
Thu, 23 Sep '21
___ Miss of the N.C.A.A.
Wed, 8 Sep '21
Exclamation with an accent
Mon, 16 Aug '21
Flamenco dancer's cry
Thu, 12 Aug '21
José ___ (frozen foods brand)
Wed, 11 Aug '21
World Cup cheer
Thu, 29 Jul '21
Accented approval
Wed, 9 Jun '21
Two-syllable cheer
Mon, 10 May '21
Fútbol cheer
Thu, 8 Apr '21
Flamenco shout
Mon, 29 Mar '21
Mississippi's ___ Miss
Thu, 25 Mar '21
Estadio cheer
Thu, 11 Mar '21
Noise from a fan
Mon, 8 Mar '21
Cheer at a bullfight
Mon, 8 Feb '21
Cry to a toreador
Mon, 4 Jan '21
Bullring cheer
Sun, 27 Dec '20
Cheer for Real Madrid